The Teenage Parents

Photo by Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

A few things have happened in the last couple of weeks that have really underlined the topsy turvy nature of my world. As many of you know our now 20 year old daughter, The Unicorn, still lives with us. She is not your typical Young Person. I never had a sleepless night worrying about her being safe and to date haven’t had her come home in an outrageously drunken state. She is the responsible one.

I cannot say the same for Mr Jones and myself. Recently it seems as if we are the teenagers heading out to drunken parties and getting home at stupid o’clock. The Unicorn is doing her best to take it in her stride but the statement, “What the fuck mum!!” seems to come up a lot these days.

I am not sure if I should just take it in my stride or if it is a sign that I maybe need to be a little bit more responsible.

3 thoughts on “The Teenage Parents

  1. When my kids were teens, there was only one incident where my youngest son came home high on weed and drunk and he learned an important lesson about that. But my wife, poly wife, and I would go out on the weekends and party until the crack of dawn. The kids kinda complained about why we could go out and party but they couldn’t and in true grown-up fashion, I told them, “We’re adults and you guys aren’t yet. Don’t make me teach you another lesson about sneaking around and getting high or drunk!

    I did to him what my mom did to me – except I hadn’t realized that she was teaching me a lesson. She and her boyfriend come home after being out, not really late, but I was up when they came in and she asked me if I wanted to have a drink with them. I “smelled a trap” but after she convinced me that I wasn’t going to get in trouble since she was giving permission, I said okay and after the second drink, I don’t remember what happened but the next thing I knew, I was in the bathroom with my face in the toilet and I heard her say, “Don’t forget this.”

    That same lesson taught my son not to bring his ass in my house high or drunk again. Yeah, there was a concern about our gang of kids being aware that we were partying like it was 1999 and it could send a wrong message to them so we agreed to come home at a “respectable” time and not be all that sloshed.

    Like

  2. Why? You’re responsible enough… You’ve got this far, and obviously raised a responsible daughter too. Live your life. From my perspective it doesn’t sound like you need to change anything that you don’t want to.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s funny. None of our three are at home anymore, but they definitely think we’re crazy. We kinda homebodies other than the beach, but we’ve slipped on things we’ve said, done and left out. They think it’s funny and my oldest told my wife she’s happy we’re having fun. Good for you guys.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment